Dustin Martin to play in AFL bushfire benefit game

Picture: AFL

Picture: AFL

The cricketers and tennis players have done their bit to aid victims of the horrific Australian bushfire season - and now it's the AFL's turn.

The league is bringing back it's beloved State of Origin format for a one-off bushfire relief charity game.

And a former Campbelltown Blues player will be one of the stars of the show.

The two-time Norm Smith and one-time Brownlow medallist was the first player picked for the Victorian side, which will face off against an All-Stars team.

He also won a minor battle against several other superstars for the right to wear the number '4' on his jersey.

Martin, Toby Greene, Marcus Bontompelli, Shaun Higgins and Jade Gresham all don the number for their clubs, but only the Richmond player will wear it on the field tomorrow night.

The crowd favourite started playing with the Ingleburn Magpies after moving to Sydney as a 15-year-old, but his talent soon saw him promoted to the Blues' under-18s squad.

Picture: Eddie Jim

Picture: Eddie Jim

He also had a stint with the Wollondilly/Camden joint venture team, the Razorbacks.

Blues club president David Bowen told the Advertiser in 2017 that Martin was a "very skillful, talented... champion player" even at a young age.

A crowd of more than 50,000 people are expected to pack out Melbourne's Marvel Stadium for the State of Origin clash, which kicks off shortly before 8pm on Friday, February 28.

The game will be jointly commentated by Channel Seven and Fox Sports callers Bruce McAvaney and Eddie McGuire, appearing together on air for the first time in more than three decades.

It has been more than 10 years since the last AFL State of Origin was held.

Funds raised from the event will go to a Community Relief Fund set up by the AFL to help rebuild football facilities damaged or destroyed in the numerous Australian bushfires.

Other stars in Martin's Victorian team include Jeremy Cameron, Patrick Dangerfield, Bachar Houli, Scott Pendlebury and more.

Big names in the All-Stars squad include Charlie Cameron, Stephen Coniglio, Nat Fyfe, Brodie Grundy, Tom Hawkins, Jack Riewoldt and Taylor Walker, among others.