Young Oztag players gear up for state tournament

About a dozen players from Macarthur have been selected to represent the region in a state Oztag tournament next weekend.

The young sporting stars will compete in their age groups at the NSW Junior City verse Country tournament in Bateau on Sunday, September 23.

The competition on the Central Coast will feature the best young players throughout the state.

Players from the Campbelltown Oztag club competition were selected in Western City Scorpions teams.

Appin resident Josh Yu said he was “excited” and could not wait to play in the competition

“I have trained hard and I’m ready to take the opportunity to represent the Western City Scorpions team,” the 14-year-old said.

Bow Bowing resident Jayden Meria said he was proud to have been selected in the representative team.

“I have enjoyed training and I am excited to play in the tournament,” the 16 year old said.

The Scorpions teams are made up of players from Macarthur, Baulkham Hills, Nepean, Parramatta and Liverpool.

They will play three other sides at the tournament – Southern Country Pride, Northern Country Knights and Southern City Seahawks.

Campbelltown MP Greg Warren was recently invited down to Victoria Park, Minto, where he met some of the players prior to the tournament.

“Campbelltown and the wider Macarthur region has produced some prestigious sporting talents,” he said.

“Olympic swimmers Daniel Tranter and Jim Piper, Matilda’s player Alanna Kennedy, Hockeyroo Emily Hurtz, NRL players James Tedesco and Chris Lawrence – the list goes on and on.

“The group of talented young Oztag players heading to Bateau Bay certainly aren’t short on talent either.

“It was amazing to recently see the fields buzzing with hundreds of young Oztag players – and that was only for a mid-week competition.

“I have no doubt Campbelltown’s Scorpion players will do themselves, their family, their friends and their community immensely proud on September 23.”

The Campbelltown-based players include: Sonny Edwards Moeke, Levi McGuinness, Tallyn Da Silva, Joshua Yu, Braydon Wickey, Jayden Meira, Fontayne Tufuga, Ocean Beaver, Tahlia King, Alex Isdale, Tyler Volcov as well as shadow players Cooper Clarke, Ella Ropata and Kyiaan Abrahams.