Labor wins Campbelltown, retains Macquarie Fields

Campbelltown MP elect Greg Warren.
Campbelltown MP elect Greg Warren.

Labor Campbelltown candidate Greg Warren has regained the traditionally Labor seat with a swing of more than 14 per cent.

Liberal sitting MP Bryan Doyle won the seat in the 2011 on the wave of Labor discontent that engulfed NSW.

Late last night Mr Warren had 57 per cent of the two-party preferred vote over Mr Doyle.

It was expected the seat would be a close run fight, but in the end Mr Warren had a comfortable victory in Campbelltown.

Macquarie Fields MP elect Anoulack Chanthivong.

Macquarie Fields MP elect Anoulack Chanthivong.

Campbelltown councillor Anoulack Chanthivong retained the safe Labor seat of Macquarie Fields, which was vacated by popular retiring MP Andrew McDonald

Mr Chanthivong had a two-party preferred vote of nearly 60 per cent over Liberal candidate Pat Farmer, the former Macarthur federal MP and attracted a swing towards him of more than nine per cent.

At 9.30pm last night only eight of 30 polling booths in the Macquarie Fields electorate.

In Campbelltown 24 out of 31 polling booths had been counted at 9.30pm.

For more see the Campbelltown-Macarthur Advertiser on Wednesday.